Brugge

Flanders  cycle race
Flanders cycle race

I spent a week in Brugge over Easter. I last went there over 20 years ago and was very pleased that it doesn’t seem to have changed too much. I stayed in a central location but sufficiently far away from it, so that the evenings were quiet but the city accessible by day. My plan for the time we were there was to loosely follow some guided walks and go on a battlefields trip. The weather was superb very sunny each day but bitterly cold but this was a good excuse to visit many of the coffee shops and bars. These pictures taken on our first day advertise the “Round Flanders bike race” that was due to start on the Sunday.IMG_6663 - Version 2

This statue has a makers mark on the base with a signature, sadly this has been added to by later scrawls.

IMG_6664 - Version 2

 

On my previous visit I undoubtedly took pictures of the major tourist spots and on this occasion i was pleased to be able to wander in the outer streets and canals, here is a taster shot of a street, more will follow later.

IMG_6753

Leave a comment